We didn’t expect it, but it’s cancer

26 Jul

Wow.

These were the words from my doctor’s mouth. In that moment, my life changed.

I am 27 years old and last Thursday, 22nd July I was diagnosed with breast cancer.

One morning, around three weeks ago, I found a lump in my right breast. I could not find anything that felt similar in the other one, so I went to my GP the next morning. The GP did an exam and then referred me to the hospital to get it tested.

Following an ultrasound and a core biopsy last Tuesday, I had an appointment at the general surgery clinic to get the results. And so it is.

To be honest, I wasn’t that surprised at the diagnosis. There is a history of cancer in my family. I had been researching various kind of breast lumps while waiting for my hospital appointment and thought mine had the characteristics of a cancer. I had a feeling.

Waiting to find out was awful. Telling my friends and family, especially my two younger sisters, was even worse. Luckily I have a wonderful husband and amazing friends and family that are making everything easier.

Tomorrow I have an MRI so the doctors can get more detail about the lump and check if there are any other smaller growths in either breast. Thursday I have another appointment with my doctor to discuss the MRI results and talk about surgery, chemo, radiotherapy.

This is the beginning of my road to recovery. I expect to beat this. I expect to raise awareness. I expect to be strong.

Just a small lump in the road…

4 Responses to “We didn’t expect it, but it’s cancer”

  1. Mira July 26, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    My thoughts are with you! Stay strong!! x

  2. Giapo July 26, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    Live strong!!!

  3. Shannyn July 30, 2010 at 7:26 pm #

    You rock Kylie! Good luck on your journey – we love you and are thinking of you!

  4. Ghada July 30, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    Wow, Kylie, was not expecting to read this. You’ve got the right attitude and I have every confidence you will beat it. Big hugs x

Leave a Reply

