T minus 8 hours

3 Aug

Tonight we farewelled my right breast with a bye bye boobie dinner at Fuji teppan yaki restaurant. I was surrounded by almost 50 of my closest friends, family and colleagues, which was exactly what I needed. I’m still buzzing from it!

I am trying not to think too much about tomorrow morning’s surgery. I don’t know exactly what time I’ll be going in, but I do have to be at the hospital at 7am! I am not a morning person and that, together with the fact that I can’t have coffee or breakfast in the morning (I’m not allowed to eat past midnight tonight), means that they might be in for one VERY bitchy patient in the morning. I had to attend the preadmission clinic today where I met with a nurse, anaesthetist and house surgeon for more poking and prodding.

I consented to them storing some of my tumour tissue in the tissue bank. This is to aid research and testing which is so important if we’re ever going to eradicate this disease that affects so many women. You can help too by donating to the Cancer Society on their upcoming Daffodil Day or by helping me with my fundraising efforts in conjunction with the NZ breast cancer foundation’s “Girls night in” campaign. Follow my tweets for more details soon.

2 Responses to “T minus 8 hours”

  1. Eve & Nick August 4, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    All the best for today Kylie, we are both thinking of you. take care, see you soon! XX

  2. Derri August 4, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    Good luck my friend, I’ll be thinking of you =)

Leave a Reply

